Clear App Data on Logout
A Launcher security feature that automatically deletes application and session upon user logout to protect shared devices.
Overview
Use Clear App Data on Logout to automatically clear application data once a user logs out of a device. It deletes cookies, session tokens, cached files, and running apps outside the authentication module. It is commonly used to safeguard sensitive information such as login credentials and browsing history on shared or multi-user devices. By default, this feature is disabled; however, administrators can enable it and configure which application packages are cleared or retained during the logout process.
User Guide
To configure Clear App Data on Logout, complete the following steps:
Enable the
clearAppDataOnLogoutsetting to clear user data upon logout.Define applications in the
clearAppDataIncludeListto clear their data even if they were not actively used during the session.Define applications in the
clearAppDataExcludeListto exclude in the process and retain their user data upon logout.
Configuration
Enabling Clear App Data on Logout
To enable the feature, set clearAppDataOnLogout to true within the Launcher configuration.
"settings": {
…
"clearAppDataOnLogout": true
}Setting Up Data Inclusion List
If clearAppDataOnLogout is set to true, this list specifies additional app packages that should be cleared even if they were not launched during the session. An example configuration is shown below:
Setting Up Data Exclusion List
If clearAppDataOnLogout is set to true, this list specifies app packages that should be excluded from the app data clearing process. These packages will retain their app data even when the user logs out. An example configuration is shown below:
The Clear App Data on Logout configuration consists of the following parameters:
clearAppDataOnLogout
Enables the clearing of app data on logout for all applications launched during user session
false
clearAppDataIncludeList
Specifies app packages that should be cleared even if they were not launched during user session
none
clearAppDataExcludeList
Specifies app packages that should be excluded from the app data clearing process
none
Putting It All Together
For the example described above, the full configuration for the Clear App Data on Logout feature is as follows:
Last updated